J. E. (Evon) Smith
is now in his 28th year or service as mayor of the City of Bay Springs. Prior to his election as Mayor in 1989, he served eight years as an Alderman on the City Board.
Mayor Smith has maintained a beautiful environment in Bay Springs with on-going city improvements and additions. The city continues to have a thriving business and industrial community. Thanks to our Mayor for his hard work and dedication over the years.
Bay Springs City HallCity Clerk

Rhonda Dyess, Deputy Clerk
Cynthia Jones, Deputy Clerk

Board of Aldermen

Ward One – Steve Breland has served the citizens of Ward One for 24 years since being elected in July, 1993.

Ward Two – Mike Lucas has served the citizens of Ward Two since his election in July, 1997. Prior to being elected an Alderman, Lucas served the community as its Fire Chief for ten years.

Ward Three – Alderman-Elect  James A. Knotts was elected in 2017 and continues his first term of office. 

Ward Four – Ron Keyes was elected to serve the citizens in Ward Four in 2013 and is now in his second term of office.

Ward Five – Bob Cook was elected to serve the citizens in Ward Five in 1985 and is now in his eighth term of office.


We offer Sincere Thanks to former Alderman James L. (Jimmy) Nix.
He was the longest-serving member of the Board of Aldermen. He was first elected in July, 1969 serving at-large until 1985 when the city was divided into five wards. He was again elected in 1988 and is now in his 25th year of public service. Nix was elected by his peers as Mayor Pro-Tem and has also served as Fire Chief for a number of years.

Municipal Judge – Lillous Shoemaker 

Board Attorney – Joseph Sims

Board Meetings
City of Bay Springs Board Meetings are held on the 1st and 3rd Tuesday of each month at 6:00 pm.  If you have a matter to bring before the board, please contact city clerk in advance of meeting.



Comments are closed